Hi! My Name Is Chico

Chico is an 8 year-old neutered male that would be a wonderful companion for a family without children in the home. He’s house-broken and sleeps from around 8pm to 7am. He is very affectionate and loves snuggling and belly rubs. He is great on a leash and loves taking walks. For much of the day, he likes relaxing on his bed. He loves his humans and will follow you around the house. He’s in great health and is up-to-date on all shots and preventative care. There are no other pets in our home but think he would do well in a house with other dogs because he loved being with other dogs at the dog sitter’s house. The story is that our family adopted Chico from another family 10 weeks ago via He has bitten our children a few times and two guests. We later found out from the other family that he does have a history of biting children and unknown people that approach him in his home. The biting appears to be fear-based and not aggression. After trying a number of interventions, my husband and I have had to made the very difficult decision to prioritize the safety of our children and rehome Chico to a family that will be a better fit. This has been heartbreaking for us. We have not been able to find a rescue that will help rehome him due to his biting history and we want to be forthright and honest with any potential adopter about this issue. We think Chico would do best in a family with adults and no children. He bonded with my husband and I very fast and we have not had any issues with biting or showing any fear towards us. There were also no issues when we brought him to a dog sitter which was a family with two adults. He follows us around the house all day and loves his humans. With guests, an owner would need to make sure they do not approach him until he comes to them. He also has some separation anxiety in the form of barking when we leave the house and we thinking having other pets in the house may help with this. He has lots of love, affection and joy to give and needs and adult-only home that can give him safety and security.
  • Chihuahua & Jack Russell Terrier 
  • Male
  • 10 Years OldMy DoB is 01/01/2014
  • 10 - 20 Pounds
  • Fawn
  • Affectionate
  • I Don't Like Kids
  • I Like Select Dogs
  • Not Tested With Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Farm Animals
  • I'm Trained
Apply To Adopt Chico
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Chico