Luna

Hi! My Name Is Luna

Luna is a very affectionate German Shepherd Mix that was adopted from the Hillsborough County Pet Resource Center December of 2021 and was estimated to be 2 years old at that time. It was obvious that she had a litter while she was a stray, but was was spayed while at the Resource Center. She was brough home significantly underweight and over the next couple of months put on weight and has remained healthy ever since. She is fed regular dog food with no special diet. Luna is used to 3 boys between the ages of 1 and 6 crawling on her and tugging at her and tolerates it with no problems. Though, she prefers to be wherever an adult is as she seeks the attention of adults. When scolded by a male, she sometimes pees. Luna is house trained and has never had an accident in the house other than if she thinks she is being scolded by a male. Luna likes to be outside, but not for long periods of time without human company, though she will be more focused on chasing squirls while outside. Luna walks well, but has always been walked with a gentle leader and has not shown aggression towards other dogs while walking. However, if walked by her collar only, she will pull out of it to run free and is difficult to catch. If a gate is left open from the yard, she will run through it. Luna has demonstrated enjoyment in rough playing with other dogs in the backyard, but for the most part they have been her size or smaller. If another dog is timid or aggressive toward her, Luna will growl and I believe she may fight with the other dog. She has nipped at another dog once before being pulled away, so it is unknown how she will actually do being around other dogs for any length of time. We recently had a new baby and Lunda is a dog that wants/needs attention. She doesn't realize that she is 50 lbs and wants to be laying in the lap of an adult without regard to the size of kids around her. We are wanting to find a new home for Luna where she can get that attention as we feel that she will not get the attention she needs from us with a new baby in the house. Luna understands "sit" but could use more training with other commands.
  • Mix¬† & German Shepherd
  • Female
  • Youth (24 - 60 Months)My DoB is 11/27/2019
  • 51 - 60 Pounds
  • Brown & No Preference
  • Affectionate
  • I Like All Kids
  • I Like Select Dogs
  • Not Tested With Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Farm Animals
  • I'm Currently In Training
Apply To Adopt Luna
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Luna